Friday, March 11, 2011

It's the End of the World

There's a song that goes like that.  In all seriousness though, the world is falling apart.  I'm pretty sure if something else happens one should prepare his/herself for the Second Coming.  This is is getting ridiculous.  It's tragic and I didn't realize how many of my friends it actually affects.  There are at least four I can think of off the top of my head.  I worry about my friends and hope they can at least talk to their families.  No sentiments are going up on my Facebook page though.  It just seems a little too much for me.  "Thinking of those in Japan" or "praying for Japan" can't be on there for me.  I wouldn't believe it if I read my own status.  Any band I have on my page is like "Oh, we're thinking of you guys" or some jazz like that.  Really?!  Are you guys really thinking of the people in Japan?  The entire band?  Honestly?!  Hm, I'm thinking maybe for a split second then it's business as usual.  Am I pessimistic and cynical about this?  Heck yes!!  Humanity as a whole is a selfish lot.  I'll be the first to admit when I saw the breaking news on my MSN home page I read the article and then thought nothing of it...until I hit Facebook.  Even then I wasn't thinking of the people in Japan, just my friends that this impacts deeply.  Do I care?  Sure, it sucks that Japan got rocked by an earthquake then drowned in a tsunami wave.  I really HATE that my friends are worrying about the health and wellness of their families (especially if they can't get a hold of them right now).  Am I going to dwell on it?  Not for much longer.  I just had to get it off my chest that it bothers me when people offer up condolences that seem fake just to be appeasing.  It made me cry to think that we COULD be 'this' close to collapse.  That's what I cared about.  I wondered if I was really ready.  I also wondered if my kids were ready.  I mean, a good thing could come from this.  I could use this as a jumping off point.  It made me realize my family might not join me when I go.  I can't have that!!  It would be partially my fault.  I haven't done right by my kiddos.  I need to take action.  I'm not sure how to start the commitment...but I NEED to!!

No comments:

Post a Comment